Skip to content

Supersize v Superskinny v ME!

July 30, 2013

“24 year old Gillian is in dire need of help, she’s starving her body with her dangerous eating habits and the consequences of this are serious”
“At 25 stone 6 Phillipa is 16 and a half stone heavier than a healthy weight for her height”

What would you recommend for each of these people?
I’d probably ask them if they’re experiencing any problems with their health but that would only be if I was their doctor – if I wasn’t their doctor then it wouldn’t be my business – actually if I *was* their doctor they’d be coming to ME with the problems they had with their health so I wouldn’t need to ask. They’ve agreed to be on a TV programme about learning to eat healthily though, so let’s assume they’re happy with us watching.

I admit here to having skim watched this and definitely skipped past any bits that looked like they were about to contain Gillian McKeith. I do get, however, that the programme involves a food swap, where the overweight person and the underweight person swap diets for a week. It’s an interesting concept, and if we believe the programme’s ‘happy, more near to normal weight people’ conclusion, it works. Bit of a wake up call to start off with then what I presume is a sensible eating plan for each of them rather than a diet to carry on with – I can almost go there.

Except.

Why do they have to be nearly naked at the beginning and so devoid of dignity? Why is O Fortuna* played over footage of the fat person (*Old Spice advert)? Am I wrong or are there more sizeist insults in the voice over for the fat person than there are for the thin person? Why, when we’re seeing what these people ate for the week, is it thrown down a ceiling height giant test tube landing with a splat and looking as yucky as possible?
There will be other things you guys will say in the comments no doubt but also
Am I very old or very forgetful?
When did people’s embarrassment, personal difficulty and pain and the attempt to work through and solve it become entertainment?

It’s well intentioned; I get that. The man in charge of the ‘feeding clinic’ where all this food swapping takes place is Dr Christian Jessen, seems to be a perfectly nice chap from all I’ve seen of him everywhere else. I asked him, via Twitter, how much of a food tube my food for the week (see below) would fill but he was busy answering other people who had proper questions 😉

If I’m going to be so delicate about what I watch then maybe I should have turned off at the opening credits in which parts of headless bodies are switched around, 3-brick-jigsaw stylee, to show a combination of shapes and sizes and all of them, ALL of them, have Action man and/or Barbie genitalia. That’s photos of real bodies with no clothes on and pre-watershed anatomical blur. NO LINK – try YouTube if you really want to see.

Anyway, here’s my food tube full of food. Very colourful, I think you’ll agree – you should always eat lots of colours, which is why you will see a Fruit Pastille-Lolly right at the top.

foodtube

From → Book/TV Reviews

One Comment
  1. Yuck. I watch other reality shows but this one offends me. It’s about exploiting people with eating disorders, luring them with the promise of telly appearances. Also, I agree about the vile McKeith. Apparently she made a right fool of herself on Big Brother (which I stopped watching after it got too focused on getting the people to have sex) and I hoped that would be the end of her fame. But no, she’s still touting misinformation.

    Give me Top Model any time 🙂

Leave a Reply

