Skip to content

Filling and Healthy

May 29, 2012

It’s time to come clean, to stand up and say “I fell off the Weight Watchers wagon”.  All that points counting got to be rather annoying and all that was happening was I was trying to be ‘good’ during the day and then eating so much at night that my stomach hurt with corresponding daytime angel promising fitness, health and glory and nighttime devil force-feeding me biscuits and similar rubbish, a devil which then laughed it’s butt off when I got stomach ache.  I wasn’t taking any control for myself and I had begun to resent the whole thing.  Luckily, just as I was about to give up, a light bulb appeared over my head and I decided to change tracks and to explore instead the WW option where you eat a load of healthy food and only track the less healthy food.  I’ve been doing so for a while now and I’ll bet you any money I’m eating healthier.

How does it work?
You still get a points allocation but it’s for the entire week rather than day by day.  This really takes the pressure off, speaking as someone who, towards bedtime, would look at their daily points allocation and think “Eek! 4 points left today, I’d better use them up or I’ll be doing it wrong”.  A whole load more food becomes nul points, or rather the points don’t matter – WW just blanks them out, and the weekly allocation is for things like oils and fats, twiglets, cakes and cheeseburgers.  How do you ensure you’re not overeating on this plan?  You judge for yourself when you’re full.  Genius.  That’s what I’ve been aiming for anyway.

Now, instead of ‘how much am I eating?’ I feel like I’m asking ‘how healthy am I eating?’ and that’s got to be better, right?  Sure, I rack up points but I view them like points on a driving licence – too many (per week) and I get my kitchen licence confiscated.  This plan works well for me because I cook from scratch most of the time and eat very little processed food.  Best of all is being free of what had become the daily tyranny of worrying about points and either a) working hard to make sure I hit the right number or b) saying ‘stuff it’ and bingeing with subsequent guilt.  Today*, for example, I ate breakfast and lunch, met my significant other for a meal out, came home and haven’t eaten anything since BECAUSE I’M ACTUALLY FULL 🙂

*by the time you read this, it will probably be a few days ago

What foods do Weight Watchers think are “filling and healthy”?
The list was vast so I’ve simplified it, now it’s only a bit vast.  Instead of colour-coding every item like I did last time I did such a list, I’ve categorised.  I hope you’ll find it informative, also that you’ll share your opinions especially if you disagree about any food listed below being healthy, tell me why the thing aint healthy and why.  Much appreciated.  However, non-vegetarian readers of this list please bear in mind some people are vegetarian and vegetarian readers of this list please bear in mind some people aren’t 🙂

VEGAN

  • Beans, peas and lentils (it also says pulses but I think beans, peas and lentils covers that)
  • Coconut water (which tastes like oral rehydration powder solution I kid you not)
  • Soya milk and plain soya yogurt
  • Wheat and other grainy things: buckwheat, bulghur, wholewheat couscous (the only type I eat anyway), brown rice, quinoa, shredded wheat, millet, oats
  • Derivatives of the above: Puffed wheat, wholemeal pasta, crumpets (!), wheat bran and wheat germ
  • Name a fruit, it’s on there (Did you know that star fruit are also called Carambola? You can’t buy them in Tesco btw)
  • Sugar-free jelly (jellies ready made in pots at the supermarket are usually vegan)
  • I’m going to list ALL the vegetables on the list because they’re nice, apart from the ones in bold which I don’t know what they are: sprouted alfalfa seeds, artichoke, asparagus, aubergine, babycorn, beansprouts, beetroot, broccoli, brussels sprouts, butternut squash, cabbage, carrots, cassava, cauliflower, celeriac, celery, chicory, chillies, chinese leaves, corn on the cob, courgette, cucumber, fennel, garlic, gherkin, ginger root, gourd (karela), herbs, jicama, kale, leeks, lettuce, mange tout, marrow, mushrooms, mustard and cress, nori, okra, onion, pak choi, palm hearts, parsnip, passata, peas, sugar snap peas, peppers, plantain, potato (including sweet potatoes), pumpkin, radish, rocket, shallots, spinach, spring onions, swede, sweetcorn, creamed corn, tomatoes, turnip, water chestnuts, watercress, yam
  • Soya mince
  • Tofu, regular and smoked

VEGETARIAN

  • Low fat cottage cheese/fromage frais/yogurt
  • Skimmed milk
  • Quark (the cheese not the thing that makes up protons)
  • Eggs
  • Quorn

MEAT

  • All the fish and seafood in the world (or so it looks – the full list has every edible fish I’ve heard of and several that I haven’t)
  • Pig meat: Bacon medallions, wild boar (also not available at Tesco), gammon steak, premium or wafer thin ham, kidneys, liver, pork escalope, lean fillet, boneless shoulder joint, lean loin steak, extra lean mince, tenderloin
  • Cow meat: Lean braising steak/fillet steak/silverside/sirloin steak/stewing steak, calf liver, ox liver, veal escalope
  • Chicken meat: skinless whatever meat from chickens also chicken mince, chicken liver
  • Sheep meat: Lamb hearts, lamb kidneys, lamb liver
  • Turkey meat: skinless breast, boneless steak, diced thigh, wafer thin turkey
  • Other animals: Frogs legs, goat, guinea fowl, kangaroo steak, ostrich tenderloin, partridge, pigeon, quail, rabbit, snails, venison haunch

There are a few foods that didn’t make it onto the filling and healthy list that I intend to continue eating because they’re so very worth their points value.  Olive oil is awesome, pumpkin seeds are the yum and avocados rock my world.

Apologies for this post not being a review of Dance Central 2, but guess who forgot to put the disk in the case when they were serving me because they were too busy trying to chat me up?  I’m going back to the shop tomorrow to try to get it sorted.

Happy Jubilee Jubilations to everyone if I don’t speak to you before.

From → Diet, Healthy eating

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

